Through the bench (or, damn it’s cold outside)

As I’ve mentioned elsewhere on this blog, one of the best and least expensive (at least as far as your heating budget is concerned) ways to bring in your fresh air for your ventilation system is to duct it under your bench and up through the bench top.

There are a couple of ways to do this, and I thought it would be timely (since yesterday it was -9 outside here in Minnesota) to show you some pictures of how I’ve done it in the past.

garagestudio03.jpg

This is a view from the underside of the bench where I’ve used a standard floor register adapter ducted down to the main fresh air duct run.

garagestudio02.jpg

Here’s a view of the floor register I’m using. Note that there are several different widths and lengths of floor registers available, and depending on how much air you are moving, you may need 2 registers installed in each workspace so that enough fresh air is being supplied.

In my formal studio, I had a fairly long run of bench work and a roof mounted fresh air intake.

magic-023.jpg

Fresh air was supplied by the “gooseneck” on roof to the left and the exhaust fan can be seen on the roof in the middle right.

Under the bench, I used rectangular ducting, which presented its own challenges for mounting. I needed room under the benches for a variety of leg forms (being a teaching studio) and rectangular ducting was the only way to go.

magic-009.jpgmagic-010.jpgmagic-011.jpgmagic-012.jpg

magic-013.jpgmagic-014.jpgmagic-015.jpg

In the set above you can see how I mounted a rectangular register adapter to the rectangular ducting.

As you design the system that works best for you, keep in mind that the ideas posted above are merely suggestions and thoughts about different ways to mount the ducting. There are many different ways that the same thing can be accomplished.

One thought on “Through the bench (or, damn it’s cold outside)

  1. Hi Mike,
    I’m from up by Duluth, MN. This is the first winter I have been using vent system. It really gets room cold when I have to crack the crank out window open for air flow. My question is: does having the fresh air come direct to the table really not suck out all the room warm air? Thanks. By the way, all your info and illustrations have been so helpful.

Leave a Reply

